NOVA SCOTIA

DEUTSCHLAND

Flag Counter

„Man reist nicht um   anzukommen, sondern um zu reisen."

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe


„Die Welt ist ein Buch. Wer nie reist, sieht nur eine Seite davon."

Augustinus Aurelius

 

"Egal wie weit der Weg ist, man muss den ersten Schritt tun."

Mao Tse-tung

 

"Ich glaubte es wäre ein Abenteuer, aber in Wirklichkeit war es das Leben."

Joseph Conrad

 

"Ein Abschied schmerzt immer, auch wenn man sich schon lange darauf freut."

Arthur Schnitzler

 

"Zu allem Großen ist der erste Schritt der Mut." 

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe 

 

Etwas Mut, ein erster Schritt- und das Unmögliche kann möglich werden.

 

 

Remembrance Day

Hello everybody!

I decided to write my blog in English, because I don't want to speak/read/write German that much anymore. I just want to concentrate on learning English, because that's what I'm here for, eh?! :) 

Anyway, today is Remembrance Day, which means that we remember all the Canadians that have fought and/or died in wars. To remember those people a lot of the people here wear a poppy, which is the flower you can see in the picture. I don't really know why, but they do it :D We don't have school tomorrow, because there's normally no school on Remembrance Day itself, but because it is on a Sunday we have no school on Monday. On Friday we had a Remembrance Day ceremony at school, where everybody had to go in the gym the last period and a few veterans were there and we just remembered them, the school band was playing and a few students sang songs as well. Then we watched a few powerpoint presentations and some people talked to us. Then it was over, there'll be ceremony for the town of Digby today but we won't go, because it's inside and my host parents only like it when it's outside. 

I really can't wait for December and Christmas and that's not very far away. My host parents say after Remembrance Day the people start with their Christmas decorations and they play Christmas songs on the radio. We already had a little bit of snow, but it was too warm for it to last. I hope we'll have more snow soon and hopefully a white Christmas! I just love December, because everything is so comfy and you just think of Christmas and candles and advent calendars aww i love it :D And what you think of for sure are Christmas holidays and New Year's Eve! 

That's everything for now, I don't have more to tell you I think. If I can think of more, I'll tell you! 

Talk to you later guys, I love you! 

Julia :D 

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 3
  • #1

    Caro (Dienstag, 13 November 2012 18:46)

    Julia!!! Was tust du? Ich würd auch gern verstehn was du schreibst und tust und du olle kuh sprerrst mich aus deinem leben aus! Ich bin untröstlich!! ;D Du kuh ;D
    :*

  • #2

    Anne (Dienstag, 13 November 2012 20:07)

    Hi Julia,

    They are wearing the "poppies" cause there is a famous poem of a Canadian writer & soldier who was in world war I. He wrote it about the poppies in Flandern... It starts with "In flandern fields the poppies grow" or so- wusste ich aber auch nicht, haben mir die Kanadier auch erst sagen müssen

  • #3

    julia-in-nova-scotia (Dienstag, 13 November 2012 23:47)

    Thanks Anne! I heard about the poem and they read it in the ceremony, but I didn't knew that this was actually the reason for the poppies.
    And Caro: I know you can still understand what I'm saying, because you're a big girl and you can speak English very well :D Big hug to ya! :*